May 27, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

Phippen prevails for ‘95’ victory

Bangor Daily News

HERMON, Maine — John Phippen Jr. of Town Hill battled with Steuben’s Brenton Parritt for the lead for much of the Late Model 50-lap feature until Parritt dropped out because of mechanical problems and Phippen prevailed for the victory at Speedway 95 Sunday.

Phippen held Liberty’s Josh St. Clair at bay to secure the win. JR Robinson of Steuben was third, followed by Dale Swoboda of Hermon and Dwayne Seekins of Stockton Springs.


Super Street: 1. Ryan St. Clair (Liberty), 2. Doug Sinclair (Hermon), 3. Mike Overlock (Franklin), 4. Cody Brassbridge (Winterport), 5. Derek Mingo (Lamoine); Strictly Street: 1. Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 2. Shawn Hamel II (Bangor), 3. Shawn Racila (Dover-Foxcroft), 4. Doug Day (Bangor), 5. Troy Patterson (Stockton Springs); Sport Four: 1. Derek Terrell (Plymouth), 2. Gary Richards (Exeter), 3. Keith Ogden (Dedham), 4. Bradley Norris (Ellsworth), 5. Andrew Crosby (Hermon)

Pro All-Stars Series

At Scarborough, Turner’s Mike Rowe took the lead from Trevor Sanborn of East Parsonfield with 30 laps to go and held off Adam Bates of Warner, N.H. to win the PASS North Super Late Model 150-lap season opener at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway Saturday evening.

Turner’s Ben Rowe placed third, Joey Doirion of Berwick was fourth and Sanborn finished fifth after leading 101 laps from the pole.

Ben Rowe and Brad Leighton of Center Harbor, N.H. also led laps.

Other local drivers: 6. Johnny Clark (Hallowell), 14. Cassius Clark (Farmington), 15. Travis Benjamin (Morrill), 16. Austin Theriault (Fort Kent), 19. Randy Turner (Unity), 24. Gary Smith (Bangor), 29. Scott Alexander (Orrington).

Thirty-one cars started of the 39 who attempted to qualify.

Winterport Dragway

Hermon’s Craig Cousins defeated Randy Therrien of Unity in the Super Pro/Pro Final Sunday.


Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Craig Cousins (Hrmon), 2. Randy Therrien (Unity), semifinalists: Joe Paluga (Bar Harbor), Bob Cousins (Brewer); Pro Eliminator: 1. Randy Therrien (Unity), 2. Don Rinaldi (Skowhegan), semifinalist: Chris Unger (Hermon); Bikes/Sleds: 1. Brittney Marston (Fairfield), 2. Jeff Fanjoy (Corinna), semifinalist: Aaron Astle (Ellsworth); Pro Street: 1. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), 2. Wayne Chadwick (South China), semifinalists: John Kaiser (Mapleton), Jeromy Carey (South China); Street Trophy: 1. Dale Hustus (Searsport), 2. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle); Teen Race: 1. Terry Sutherland (Ellsworth), 2. Alex Lane (Stockton Springs), semifinalist: Zach Hatch (Trescott)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like