June 24, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Senate approves nominees for LURC

By Kevin Miller, BDN Staff

AUGUSTA, Maine — The state Senate on Monday approved the nominations of seven people to serve on the Land Use Regulation Commission.

Six of the seven nominees were reappointments to the agency, which oversees development and land use policies on the roughly 10 million acres within Maine’s Unorganized Territory.

The reappointed members are: James Nadeau of Winterville Plantation; Ed Laverty of Milo; Bart Harvey of Greenville; Gwendolyn Hilton of Starks; Rebecca Kurtz of Phillips; and Steve Schaefer of Grand Lake Stream.

The new appointee to LURC’s seven-member board was Sarah “Sally” Farrand of Beaver Cove. Farrand replaces Stephen Wight of Newry, who has served as a commissioner since 1987.

Gov. John Baldacci had exercised his authority to extend the four-year terms of all seven commissioners in recent years in order to allow the board to complete work on two projects on which LURC has been working for more than four years.

Those projects are Plum Creek Timber Co.’s historic development and conservation plan for the Moosehead Lake region, which the commission approved last year, and an update of the Comprehensive Land Use Plan. Baldacci accepted the revised CLUP last week.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like