UMaine announces promotions, tenure list

Posted March 15, 2010, at 9:14 p.m.

The following University of Maine faculty members were approved Monday afternoon at the University of Maine System’s board of trustees meeting for promotion or tenure. The professors were nominated by UMaine President Robert Kennedy after a review of their work in teaching, research and community service.

Promoted to professor
Richard H. Borgman, finance
Gloria L. Vollmers, accounting
Craig A. Mason, education and applied quantitative methods
Stephen M. Miller, history
Touradj Solouki, chemistry
Beth Wiemann, music
Emmanuel S. Boss, oceanography
Todd M. Gabe, resource economics and policy
Carol H. Kim, biochemistry, microbiology, and molecular biology

Promoted to associate research professor
Lee Karp-Boss, marine sciences
Andrew J. Pershing, marine sciences

Promoted to associate professor with tenure
Susan K. Gardner Cosgrove, higher education leadership
Yifeng Zhu, electrical and computer engineering
Phillip M. Dickens, computer science
Kimberly A. Huisman, sociology
Andrew H. Knightly, mathematics
Laura A. Lindenfeld, mass communications-media studies and public policy
Brian S. Robinson, anthropology and Climate Change Institute
Michael J. Socolow, communication and journalism
Clarissa A. Henry, biological sciences
Sara M. Lindsay, marine science