February 25, 2018
Scores and Highlights Latest News | Poll Questions | Opioid Epidemic | Joyce McLain | Tourney Time 2018

Web site: Woodward best coach

Bangor Daily News

University of Maine men’s head basketball coach Ted Woodward has been named CollegeInsider.com America East Coach of the Year.

Woodward guided the Black Bears, who were picked eighth in the conference preseason poll, to a third-place finish with an 11-5 AE record.

“It is certainly a great honor to be recognized by CollegeInsider.com,” Woodward said in a press release. “I have had a great group of student-athletes to work with this season. I consider our assistant coaches — Douglas Leichner, Chris Markwood and Ed Kohtala — to be absolutely the best and I thank them all for their hard work throughout the year.”

The Bears’ 19-11 record was tied for the fourth-most victories in a season in program history.

Maine also notched wins over Atlantic-10 member Fordham, Ivy League power Princeton and Atlantic Coast Conference member Boston College. It was Maine’s first win over BC in 85 years.

Conner, Bartlett are all-academic

UMaine track and field athletes Corey Conner and Miles Bartlett have been named to the America East Indoor Track and Field All-Academic teams.

Bartlett, a senior from Casco, was third in the 800-meter run at the 2010 AE Men’s Indoor Championships and has a 3.55 GPA as a kinesiology and physical education major.

Conner, a sophomore from Townsend, Mass., won the mile with a time of 4:49.67 at the AE Women’s Indoor Championships and has a 3.95 GPA in the nursing program.

All-Academic selections are nominated by sports information directors and voted on by a committee of SID’s, academic advisors, and faculty representatives from all nine member institutions.

Colby at NCAA ski championship

Colby College is well-represented during the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships being held this week at Steamboat Springs, Colo.

The Mules have two athletes competing in the cross country discipline, while three skiers are taking part in the Alpine racing action.

Senior Dana Breakstone was entered in Wednesday’s giant slalom and finished 23rd out of 35 skiers. Her combined time for the two runs was 4.45 seconds behind the winner.

Senior Josh Kernan is a four-year NCAA veteran and a two-time All-American. He was fourth in the slalom last year and sixth in the giant slalom.

Kernan was 14th in both disciplines two years ago.

Junior Vincent Lebrun-Fortin owns three top-10 finishes in three years. He was sixth in the slalom in 2009 after taking fifth in the slalom and seventh in the giant slalom in 2008.

Kernan finished 22nd in Wednesday’s giant slalom, while Lebrun-Fortin was 23rd. Kernan was 2.68 seconds off the winning time.

The men’s and women’s slalom races are scheduled for Friday.

Sophomore Lucy Garrec of Freeport hopes to improve on her 2009 performances when she took 14th in the 5K classical and 27th in the 15K freestyle. She is slated to race Thursday at 11:30 a.m. in the 5K and the 15K Saturday afternoon.

Junior Wyatt Fereday returns to the NCAA meet after qualifying as a freshman in 2008. His 10K is set for Thursday at 1:30 and he is entered in Saturday’s noon 20K freestyle.

Artesani gets all-ECAC honor

Emily Artesani, a senior from Orono, earned All-Eastern College Athletic Conference honors for finishing seventh in the 400 meters at the ECAC Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships at Smith College in Northampton, Mass.

It was the fourth time Artesani, who ran the 400 in 1 minute, 0.23 seconds, has earned All-ECAC honors.

Henry among USM captains

Collin Henry has been selected as one of four baseball captains for the University of Southern Maine baseball team.

The senior from Penobscot, who played his high school ball at George Stevens Academy in Blue Hill, is a key member of coach Ed Flaherty’s squad.

Henry, a lefthanded-hitting first baseman and designated hitter, batted .323 in 2009 with a team-high 19 doubles along with six home runs and 54 RBIs. The All-Little East Conference second-team choice also went 3-3 on the mound with a 4.74 earned run average.

USM’s other captains are seniors Mark Schmidt, Andrew deBethune and Josh Mackey.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like