April 19, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Barbara Bush | Ranked-Choice Voting | Allan Monga

Two ’Jammer wrestlers top seeds at New Englands


Top high school wrestlers from throughout the state will converge on Hillhouse High School in New Haven, Conn., Friday and Saturday for the 46th annual New England Interscholastic Wrestling Championships.

Forty-two wrestlers from throughout the Pine Tree State are expected to participate, three in each of the 14 weight classes.

Recently crowned individual state champions in Classes A, B and C are eligible to participate.

Among those seeded first among Maine wrestlers who will compete in the event were two standouts from Class B state champion Camden Hills of Rockport. Zac Fields, the 130-pound individual state champion, and Windjammer teammate Jacob Powers, the 160-pound winner, both earned No. 1 seeds.

Other No. 1 Maine seeds were Ryan Burgess (103 pounds) and Josh Thornton (140) of Mountain Valley of Rumford, Vanya Tomaszewski (112) of Wells, Ethan Gilman (119) of Massabesic of Waterboro, four- time state champion Matt DelGallo (125) of Gardiner, Billy Gauthier (135) of York, Marcus Bubar (145) of Lisbon, Stefan Emery (152) of Fryeburg Academy, Steve Martin (171) of Bonny Eagle of Standish, T.J. Vallee (189) of Cony of Augusta, Andrew Drouin (215) of Westbrook and Henry Chandler (285) of Mount Ararat of Topsham.

Three wrestlers from Penobscot Valley Conference champion Dexter will participate. Lee Gustin (160), Doug Richardson (189) and Zach Poirier (285) all are seeded third among Maine participants in their weight classes.

Other Eastern Maine wrestlers headed for the New Englands are Mark Smith of Foxcroft Academy, third seeded at 103 pounds; Brent Waterman of Belfast, third at 119; Scott Carpenter of Calais, second at 125; Patrick Hapworth of Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield, second at 171; and River Robertson of Bucksport, third at 171.

Spencer McCormick of Calais, the Class C state champion at 152 pounds, will not compete at the New Englands due to an upper back and neck injury, though his father, Calais coach Randy McCormick, is hopeful the Blue Devil standout will be able to return to the mat in time for the High School National Wrestling Championships to be held later this month at Virginia Beach, Va.

Webb, two others honored

Peter Webb, Cooper Higgins and Keith Weatherbie have been named recipients of the 2010 Larry LaBrie Award by the Maine Principals’ Association.

The award, created in 2008, recognizes LaBrie’s 16 years of service as an assistant executive director of the MPA and honors up to three persons statewide for their contributions to the organization’s interscholastic division.

Webb has served as the state’s basketball commissioner for the past 21 years and is a nationally recognized rules interpreter for basketball who travels extensively around the country and internationally to conduct rules clinics.

Higgins served as athletic administrator at Falmouth High School for 21 years. He was on the MPA’s tennis committee for six years and has been co-administrator of the state singles and team tennis tournaments for the past 21 years.

Weatherbie, athletic administrator at Cape Elizabeth High School for 21 years, served on the MPA’s cross country, ice hockey and tennis committees. He also is a site director for the state ice hockey tournament.

Lobster Bowl coaches named

Bill County of Lewiston and Kevin Cooper of Bonny Eagle of Standish have been selected to serve as head coaches for the 21st annual Maine Shrine Lobster Bowl Classic football game to be held July 24 at Waterhouse Field in Biddeford.

Game time is 4 p.m.

County, who will lead the East squad, and West head coach Cooper are both veteran high school head mentors who previously have been Lobster Bowl assistant coaches.

The game features more than 80 of the top recently graduated high school senior football players in the state from the previous season.

The West leads the rivalry 15-5, but the East has won three of the past four games, including a come- from-behind 17-16 victory last summer. Last year’s head coaches were Dan O’Connell of John Bapst of Bangor for the East and Dean Plante of Old Orchard Beach.

Proceeds from the game benefit the Shrine Hospitals for Children.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like