June 23, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Depth carries Dexter to first PVC title since 2001

Bangor Daily News | BDN
Bangor Daily News | BDN
Foxcroft Academy's Trevor Wemoth (left) wrestles Piscataquis Community High School's Brian Malo in the 119lbs weight class of the PVC Wrestling Championships in Lincoln Saturday. Malo won the match. (Bangor Daily News/Gabor Degre)

LINCOLN, Maine – The Dexter Tigers won their first Penobscot Valley Conference wrestling title since 2001 on Saturday, using the quality of its depth to top a 19-school field competing at Mattanawcook Academy.

Dexter, which had placed second at the PVCs in each of the last three seasons, scored 177 points to top defending champion Bucksport, which placed second.

Bucksport scored 145.5 points to edge third-place Ellsworth (140.5), while Penobscot Valley of Howland (119) and Fort Kent (110.5) rounded out the top five, followed by Foxcroft Academy (97) and Caribou (94.5).

Dexter advanced six wrestlers to the championship finals, with four winning individual conference titles.

Seniors Lee Gustin (160 pounds), Doug Richardson (189) and Zach Poirier (285) all won their weight classes, and coach Adam Gudroe’s Tigers also got a big boost early in the finals when sophomore Vincent Malinauskas won at 112.

Dexter got runner-up finishes from Tyler Salisbury (103) and Andrew Levensalor (125), while Andy Adams finished third at 119.

Bucksport, which graduated nine starters from last year’s team, got individual victories from Jacob Stewart (140), Jordan Fogg (145) and River Robertson (171).

Old Town, which finished eighth in the team standings with 79.5 points, was the only other school to crown more than one individual champion. Kiowa Vickrey won the 130-pound title, while Lee Larry rallied to pin Zac Ragot of Washington Academy of East Machias with 2.8 seconds left in the 215-pound championship match.

Other individual champions were Mark Smith of Foxcroft (103), Bryan Malo of Piscataquis of Guilford (119), Brendan Wood of Caribou (125), Josia Moore of George Stevens Academy of Blue Hill (135) and Fred Lear of John Bapst of Bangor (152).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like