January 21, 2018
College sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Bridgewater Arrest | Bangor Mall | Real ID

November 9, Scores and Highlights

Bangor Daily News

John Bapst

John Bapst Memorial High School will hold its winter sports night Nov. 10. There is a 6:30 p.m. meeting in the auditorium for first-year and freshman students and parents who did not participate in a fall sport. Team informational meetings begin at 7 p.m. for all students interested in playing a winter sport. Call athletic director Rick Sinclair at 947-0313 for more information.


Dates and times for Central High School winter sports tryouts are as follows: girls basketball, Nov. 16, 3-5 p.m., Nov. 17, 5-7 p.m.; boys basketball, Nov. 16, 5-7 p.m., Nov. 17, 3-5 p.m.; indoor track, Nov. 16, 2:30-4:30 p.m., Nov. 17, 2:30-4:30 p.m.; cheering, Nov. 16, 3-4:30 p.m., Nov. 17, 3-4:30 p.m.
There will be a mandatory parents meeting Nov. 9 at 6 p.m. and mandatory coaches meeting at 5 p.m.

There will be a mandatory winter sports meeting for all Lawrence High School athletes and their parents on Nov. 12 at 6p.m. in the gym. All teams will begin tryouts on Nov. 16.
Times for Lawrence High School winter sports tryouts are as follows: cheering, 6 p.m., indoor track, 2:30 p.m., ice hockey, 2:30 p.m., girls varsity basketball, 5 p.m., girls JV basketball, 6:30 p.m., girls frosh basketball, 6:30 p.m., boys varsity basketball, 2 p.m., boys JV basketball, 3:30 p.m., boys frosh basketball, 3:30 p.m.

High School Preseason League
At Bangor Y
John Bapst 36, Old Town 25

John Bapst top scorer: Abby Pyne 16; Old Town: Ashley Abbott 16, Courtney Treadwell 11
Bangor 47, Hermon Gold 47
Bangor top scorers: Hannah Colpritt 14, Morgan Johnson 10; Hermon: Danielle Ross 17, Carmen Nickerson 11

At Sukee Arena, Winslow

Brewer Travel 4, CMYHA 4

At Sawyer Arena, Bangor, Saturday
Casco Bay 7, Bangor Travel 1
Casco Bay goal scorers: Aidan Roberts 2, Sam Doolittle, Nick Demers, Will Schad, Quinton Farr, Jesse Cyr-Brophy; goalie: Ryan Bonnvie, Victor Wakelin; Bangor goal: Gino Caccese; goalie: Joey Brozyna

At Sawyer Arena, Bangor, Sunday
CDS, Augusta 7, Bangor 2
CDS scorers: Jake Glazier 4, David Marshall 2, Peter Prescott; goalie: Tom Small; Bangor goals: Harrison Dieuveuil, Colin Glencross; goalie: Joey Brozyna
At Midcoast Recreation Center, Rockport

MCSA 8, Brewer 2
MCSA goals: Katie Morse 4, Madison Gleason 2, Katherine Orne, Molly Davee; goalie: Sam Morse; Brewer: Morgan Trimper 2; goalie: Kara Price


Bangor Travel 4, Casco Bay Travel 1

Bangor goals: Chapin Frost, Vinny Caccese, Josiah Simko, Matt Spear; goalie: Ryan Manning; Casco Bay: Chris Grennon; goalie: Jonathan Look

Bangor Travel 3, Capital District Select 1

Bangor goals: Sam Sherwin 2, Jay Bishop; goalie: Sam Lander; Capital: Benjamin Fuller; goalies: Mathew Dubois, Joshua Ehiorobo

GNAC All-Conference Teams
Saint Joseph’s College
Women’s Soccer

First team: Mikayla Call, Shannon Fitzgerald; second team: Brianna Jordan; third team: Jessica Needham, Anna Willis; sportsmanship award: Anna Willis
Player of the year: Kate McKenna (Emmanuel); defensive player of the year: Shannon Fitzgerald (Saint Joseph’s); rookie of the year: Justine Beauchamp (Simmons); coach of the year: Erica Mastrogiacomo (Simmons)
Men’s Soccer
First team: Andre Cushing, Greg Cavanaugh, Will Pike; second team: Doug MacCullum, Paul Robins; third team: Michael Sanfilippo, Timothy Davison; sportsmanship award: Jesse West
Player of the year: Danny Lloyd (Suffolk); defensive player of the year: Will Pike (Saint Joseph’s); rookie of the year: Will Daniels (Mount Ida); coach of the year: Jared Scarpaci (Emerson)

Little East Conference

Jon Letendre (University of Southern Maine senior), men’s cross country runner, was the top LEC runner and placed 22nd of 296 runners at the ECAC Division III Championships. He covered the 8-kilometer course in 27 minutes, 35.8 seconds.

Eastern Collegiate Football Conference
Julius Williams (Husson University senior), offense, scored two touchdowns and totaled 250 yards on 16 carries. Became Husson’s all-time leading rusher with over 3,500 yards.
Mike Oehl (Maine Maritime Academy senior), defense, had 18 tackles in his final collegiate game. He had 17 solo tackles and two assists in a loss to Gallaudet.

Nick Kmetz (Colby College), football offense, was 16-for-26 passing for 273 yards and also rushed for 53 yards in Colby’s 34-31 win. He three for four touchdowns in the second half.
Doub Brecher (Bates College senoir), men’s cross country, top finishing NESCAC runner at the ECAC Championships. He placed third of 296 runners with a time of 26:48.0 on the 8K course.

Men’s Soccer All-Tournament Team, Saint Joseph’s: Will Pike, Jack LeFreniere, Doug MacCullum, Greg Cavanaugh, Paul Robins; Emerson: Zach Sayward, Corey Walls, Kim Nikravesh; Lasell: Julian Dutton, Paul Meucci; Norwich: Zach Blodgett, Jake Leclaire

North Atlantic Conference
Men’s Soccer All-Tournament Team, Johnson State: Noor Bulle, Chris Keefer; Maine Maritime: Jeff Butland, Abdullah Alkhayyat; Castleton: Mike Anthony, Josh Costa, Chris Mulholland, Sean Fitzgerald; Husson: Tyler Metevier, Gavin Madden, Justin Gauvin, Edwin Acosta; MVP: Miguel Dominguez (Husson)
Field Hockey All-Tournament Team, Husson: Lorri Hiltz, Helen Berry, Kristen Capen, Jenika Kelley, Jillian Morin; UM-Farmington: Jessie LaCasse, Alyssa St. Pierre, Ashley Wentworth; St. Joseph’s: Alyssa Dunn, Julia Ostrowski; Castleton: Marie Amaral, Meghan Konowich; MVP: Lorri Hiltz (Husson)

NAIA Sunrise Conference Championship
At Presque Isle, Saturday
Men’s 8K

Paul Smith’s 36, UM-Presque Isle 51, Vermont Tech 66, SUNY Canton 73, UM-Fort Kent
1. Justin Fereshetian (UMPI) 29:00, 2. Justin Richardson (SUNY Canton) 29:21, 3. Kyle Dash (PS), 4. Justin Newland (VT) 30:17, 5. Matthew Piper (PS) 30:25, 6. Byron Danis (SUNY Canton) 30:33, 7. Jacob Dillon (PS) 31:27, 8. Jason Johnson (UMPI) 31:30, 9. Chris Rines (UMPI) 31:46, 10. Patrick DeTraglia (PS) 32:15
Women’s 5K
UM-Presque Isle 28, Paul Smith’s 29, Vermont Tech 66, SUNY Canton no score, UM-Fort Kent no score
1. Jessie Gardner (PS) 21:51, 2. Ashley Rokjer (PS) 22:11, 3. Shelly Hanson (UMPI) 22:26, 4. Katie Christoffel (UMPI) 22:58, 5. Justine Cyr (UMPI) 23:12, 6. Chandra Wisneski (UMPI) 23:59, 7. Jessica Champagne (PS) 24:26, 8. Ashley Comeau (PS) 24:37, 9. Laura Dacyczyn (UMFK) 24:47, 10. Laura Burbank (VT) 25:02

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like