April 24, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | George H.W. Bush | Litchfield Homicide | Schoolhouse Fire

3 incumbents return to Hampden council

By Eric Russell, BDN Staff

HAMPDEN, Maine — Shannon Cox, Andre Cushing and Matthew Arnett — all incumbents — were elected Tuesday to fill three open seats on the Hampden Town Council.

Cushing, who also is a state representative, got the most votes with 2,218, followed by Arnett (1,959), and Cox (1,776). Andrew Colford, who has served on the council in the past, received 1,730.

Arnett was elected to his third term, while Cox and Cushing will enter their second terms.

Voters also elected two SAD 22 board members, Peter Huston and Richard Moore, who ran unopposed, and one member of the Hampden Water District board of trustees, Samuel Shane Sargent, who also ran unopposed.

Town Council and school board terms are three years while the water district post is for five years.

Hampden voters, voting 1,889 to 1,456, also approved a referendum question to borrow up to $2.3 million for repairs to Mayo Road. That project, considered long overdue by many town leaders, is expected to begin in 2010.

Town Clerk Denise Hodgdon said turnout on Tuesday was about 59 percent, the highest percentage she could remember for an off-year election and even higher than the 2006 gubernatorial election.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like