June 25, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Lone Star Ticks | Foraging | Bangor Pride

Midcoast Hall inducting eight

BDN staff reports

The Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame has announced that it will induct eight new members Oct. 17 at the Rockland Elks Lodge.

Leroy Bennett, Charlie Crockett, Art Dyer, Beryl Leach, Rich Mazurek and Don Palmer will join posthumous selections Don Bowman and Roger Sorrent in the 2009 class.

Bennett was a two-sport star at Camden High in the late 1950s and was best known for his prowess on the basketball court.

Bowman was a standout baseball player who played professionally in Texas. He starred in the old Knox Lincoln Baseball League.

Crockett was a fixture as the softball and cross country coach at Camden-Rockport. For more than 40 years, he has been the voice of Windjammers basketball, first on WRKD radio and for the last two decades on local cable TV.

Dyer was a longtime boys basketball coach at Medomak Valley and Westbrook. He led the Panthers to state titles in 1977 and 1980 and guided the Blue Blazes to the 1984 state crown.

Leach served as a coach in basketball, baseball and track and field and also was the athletic director at Camden and Camden-Rockport high schools.

Mazurek had an outstanding career at Rockland High, playing on the Tigers’ state championship basketball and baseball squads. He went on to have a productive career at Husson College in Bangor.

Palmer served for many years as the boys soccer coach at Camden-Rockport and Camden Hills high schools. His teams compiled more than 300 victories and earned a state championship.

Sorrent carved a niche as a golf course builder. He did several around Maine, including Rockland Golf Club, which he operated for many years.

Tickets for the event, which includes dinner, are $25 each and are available by calling Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame President Don Shields at 485-6907, by e-mailing midcoastsportshalloffame@hotmail.com or by visiting the studios of Real Country 103.3 on Payne Ave., Route 1, in Rockland during regular business hours.

Hall names high school finalists

A group of 10 high school student-athletes, five boys and five girls, has been selected as finalists for the 2008-09 Midcoast Sports Hall of Fame High School Athlete of the Year.

The boys finalists are Anderson Murphy, Rockland; Steven Genthner, Medomak Valley; Taylor Gartley and Kiefer Lammi, Camden Hills; and Matthew Shields, Georges Valley.

The girls finalists include Lacy Massengale, Medomak Valley; Laura Plourde and Joelle Joyce, Rockland; Erin Judkins, Georges Valley; and Erin Cooper, North Haven.

The finalists were chosen from a group of nominees sent in by midcoast area high schools. The winners will be announced Oct. 17 at the Midcoast Hall banquet.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like