May 21, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Concussions | Maine Media College | Boston Red Sox

Mainers to be inducted into NE basketball hall

BDN staff reports

The New England Basketball Hall of Fame’s fifth induction ceremony on Oct. 9 will include many outstanding high school and college athletes and coaches from the state of Maine.

The Hall announced its 2009 inductees Monday in the categories of players and coaches in high school, college and prep school as well as Ronald S. Perry inductees and scholar-athlete selections.

High school players slated for induction are: boys — Steve Pound of Stearns in Millinocket, Nick Scaccia of Sanford, Jack Scott of Ellsworth and Andy Bedard of Mountain Valley in Rumford; girls — Cyndi Meserve Bona of Livermore Falls, Liz Coffin of Ashland, Bri Fecteau of Westbrook, Linda Johnson Freeman of Scarborough and Julie Veilleux of Cony in Augusta.

High school coaches set for induction are: boys — Jeff Hart of Camden Hills, Charlie Katsiaficas Sr. of Ellsworth, John Shaw of Rumford and Thomas Maines of Morse in Bath; girls — Rick Clark of York and Roland Cote of Sanford.

Prep school players: boys — Archie Tracey of Maine Central Institute in Pittsfield and girls — Amy Beliveau of Thornton Academy in Saco.

Several Maine college athletes and coaches will also be inducted, including: Division III men’s coach — Rick Simonds, Saint Joseph’s College of Standish; Division III women’s player — Joanna Brown of the University of Southern Maine and Julie Roche Simplicio of Bates College in Lewiston; Division III women’s coach — Stephanie Pemper of Bowdoin College in Brunswick; NAIA players — men: Walt Edwards of Husson College in Bangor; women: Jan Brinkman of the University of Maine-Farmington and Shara MacDonald of Husson.

Several Mainers will also be inducted under the Ronald S. Perry category, named in honor of the Holy Cross athletic legend, and given to those who have excelled in several areas.

Those Mainers are: John Edes of Colby, high school and college player and referee; Rick Boyages of Bowdoin, high school and college player; and Carol Bubar-Gilpin, UM-Farmington, high school and college player.

Gaining induction in the scholar-athlete category are George Wigton, who was a longtime coach at Bates College where he was elected to the school’s Scholar-Athlete Society and Neile Joler Nelson of Saint Joseph’s College where she was a team captain and a recipient of the school’s distinguished scholar-athlete award.

The induction ceremony will be held at the Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Conn. Those seeking ticket information may call: 1-800-447-9889 or e-mail:

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like