May 23, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Lunch Debt | Robert Indiana | Stolen Shed

Nominees receive Senate approval

Bangor Daily News

AUGUSTA, Maine — Maine will get a new supreme court justice.

The Maine Senate on Monday confirmed the appointment of Superior Court Justice Joseph Jabar of Waterville for a seat on the Supreme Judicial Court. Jabar is scheduled to be sworn in next week by Gov. John Baldacci.

Jabar replaces Justice Robert Clifford, who will serve as an active retired associate justice.

Also confirmed Monday were about three dozen appointments to a variety of state offices that include the courts, university trustee boards, labor and gambling boards.

Baldacci’s nominees for the Community College System, Maine Maritime Academy, Labor Relations and Gambling Control boards won confirmation.

Besides Jabar, confirmed were: Beth Dobson of Portland and Daniel Driscoll of Kennebunk; as District Court judges; Ronald Daigle of Fort Kent and James MacMichael of Skowhegan as active retired District Court judges; Robert Clifford of Lewiston and Samuel Collins of Rockland as active retired associate justices of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court.

Also, Doris Belisle-Bonneau of Auburn and Devin Beliveau of Kittery to the Community College board of trustees; Michelle Atherton of Orrington, James Atwell of Falmouth, Adam Lee of Cumberland Center, Naomi Mermin of Portland, Glenn Poole of Orrington, John Rohman of Bangor and Thomas Tietenberg of Waterville, members of the Efficiency Maine Trust Board.

Also, Dimitri Balatsos of Falmouth, Benedetto Viola of Scarborough and Kenneth Williams of Damariscotta, to the Employees Retirement System; Peter Danton of Saco and Cushing Samp of Saco, Gambling Control Board; Andre Duchette of Brunswick, Governmental Ethics and Election Practices; Mavourneen Thompson of Peaks Island, Human Rights Commission.

Also, Marvin Glazier of Bangor, Kimberly Moody of Poland, Kenneth Spirer of Portland, Sally Sutton of South Portland and Ron Schneider Jr. of Wells (chairman), Indigent Legal Services Commission; David Elliott of Whitefield, Carol Gilmore of Charleston and Wayne Whitney of Brunswick, Labor Relations Board; Peter Danton of Saco, Liquor and Lottery Commission; and Robert Peacock of Eastport and Rodney Rodrigue of Longwood, Fla., Maine Maritime Academy board of trustees.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like