May 26, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Farm Bill | Memorial Day | Pigs Buried

3 teacher of the year finalists announced

AUGUSTA, Maine — Two elementary school teachers and a high school physics teacher from Guilford are state finalists for the title of 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year.

The finalists are Kevin Grover, a second-grade teacher at D.W. Lunt School in Falmouth; Jayne Quinn Sawtelle, a K-5 music teacher at Fred P. Hall Elementary School in Port-land; and William “Bill” Thompson, a high school physics teacher at Piscataquis Community High School in Guilford.

Six semifinalists underwent an intensive selection process that included a school visit, a professional portfolio review and an oral presentation. The three state finalists will complete a final interview before the 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year is selected.

Review panel members participating in this year’s selection process included past teachers of the year, principals, Department of Education staff, members of the State Board of Education and representatives of the business community. The 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

“Time and again, research indicates that nothing impacts student learning as much as the quality of the teacher in the classroom,” said Education Commissioner Susan A. Gendron. “I am eager for any opportunity to highlight the work of the state’s teachers. All three of these teachers represent the best in our state by centering their attention on the needs of students and ensuring that they all succeed.”

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like