June 24, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Walton wins Big Enduro feature race

BDN staff and wire reports

HERMON, Maine — Duane Walton of Carmel took the lead on the first lap when pole-sitter John McCullough lost his drive shaft and he went on to take the checkered flag in the Big Enduro feature during Wacky Wednesday at Speedway 95.

Hudson’s Shawn McNevin was second, followed by Winterport’s Ricky Palmer, Alan Cookson Jr. of Old Town and Clifton’s Roger Smith Jr.


Little Enduros: 1. Donnie Blanchard (Bangor), 2. Darrin Durrell (Newburgh), 3. Jason Trundy (Old Town), 4. Paul Higgins (Newburgh), 5. Adam Russell (Medford); Ladies: 1. Shelby Kimball (Cornville), 2. Rhonda Lyford (Winterport), 3. Becky Elston (Carmel), 4. Nicole Smith (Clifton), 5. Kayla Allen (Bucksport); Trucks: 1. Jim Carr Jr. (Clifton), 2. Dana Harlow (Bucksport), 3. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 4. Brent Crosby (Hermon), 5. Matt Milton (Orrington); Double O: 1. Mike Witham (Milo), 2. Robert Mushero (Scarborough), 3. Timothy Moon (Levant), 4. Mike Houde (Howland), 5. Dan Quillia (Winterport)

Busch, Speed set for Rolex

NASCAR stars Kyle Busch and Scott Speed will co-drive a second entry for Chip Ganassi Racing in the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series race July 4 at Daytona International Speedway.

The two NASCAR Sprint Cup stars will make their Grand-Am debuts in a Lexus Riley Daytona Prototype as teammates of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, the reigning series champions and Brumos Porsche 250 race winners.

“I am really looking forward to seeing Kyle and Scott in one of our Grand-Am cars,” Ganassi said. “Kyle is one of the best race car drivers in the world and Scott is a young talent with a lot of road course experience. Also, I think having the opportunity for them to work with a road course veteran like Scott Pruett should make for a great experience for them.”

The versatile Busch drives for Joe Gibbs Racing in Cup, Nationwide and trucks, while Speed, a former Formula One regular, drives in Cup for Red Bull Racing.

Since the team’s introduction into the Grand-Am Series in 2004, Ganassi has won the Rolex 24 at Daytona three consecutive times along with capturing three Daytona Prototype team championships and winning 22 races in a six-year span. Last season, Pruett became the first two-time Daytona Prototype champion and Rojas be-came the first Mexican driver to win a major racing championship in the United States.

The 2½-hour sports car race will be a one-day event, with practice in the morning and the race in the afternoon. It will be followed at 8 p.m. by the Coke Zero 400 Sprint Cup race.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like