AUGUSTA, Maine — Children who use tanning booths in Maine will be subject to new regulations under a bill that’s awaiting final Senate passage.
The bill that won final House passage Friday prohibits minors under 14 years old from using tanning devices. For minors 14 and older, parental consent would be needed. The law would also require the presence of a parent or guardian for minors 14 and 15 years old using tanning booths.
The bill says tanning facilities present a potentially serious public health issue to minors and calls for rules to protect minors from exposure to ultraviolet radiation.