May 21, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Concussions | Maine Media College | Boston Red Sox

Superintendent stays with Lincoln schools

By Nick Sambides Jr., BDN Staff

LINCOLN, Maine — Michael Marcinkus will remain school superintendent in Chester, Lincoln and Mattawamkeag when the new RSU 67 board starts work July 1, board Chairwoman Judy Junkins said Sunday.

Marcinkus, Junkins and board Vice Chairwoman Jackie Thurlow of Lincoln were renamed to their posts, while Sarah Crockett of Lincoln was named the board’s secretary, Junkins said.

The board is preparing to take over from the SAD 67 board in accordance with a state law requiring school administration reorganization statewide. Board members also accepted all SAD 67 policies and the school calendar of events during its meeting on Tuesday.

“There really isn’t a change that anyone will notice,” Junkins said Sunday. “I am trying to think of something that changed and, frankly, I cannot. It’s the same towns and same people on the boards, essentially.”

Elected in a special referendum May 5, the new Regional School Unit 67 board — Regginal Adams, Crockett, David Edwards, Junkins, Darla Lichtenberg, Judy McComb, Jeff Schick, Carolyn Smith, Debra Tardy, Thurlow, John Trask and Jessica Worster — drew lots Tuesday to determine the length of their terms of office, Junkins said.

For Chester, Smith will serve two years and McComb, one. For Lincoln, Edwards, Junkins and Thurlow will serve three years; Lichtenberg, Schick and Tardy will serve two; and Crockett and Trask will serve one-year terms, Junkins said.

Worster will serve three years and Adams one for Mattawamkeag.

Scott Gardner and Michele Morrison of Lincoln will be the only SAD 67 board members to not continue when the school administrative district ceases to exist on July 1. They did not run for re-election.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like