June 19, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

Orono voters tap 5 residents for new school unit board

By Jessica Bloch, BDN Staff

ORONO, Maine — Voters on Tuesday elected five residents, four of whom are on the current school board, to staggered terms on the new Regional School Unit 26 board.

Leo C. Kenney tallied the most votes with 248, followed by James E. Bird with 232, Alison S. Mitchell with 217, Geoffrey Wingard with 192 and Frances Mary Neubauer with 178. Roger Feeley, who had 143 votes, was not elected.

Kenney, Bird, Mitchell and Wingard are members of the current board. Lisa Buck, also a member of the current board, did not run for the RSU board.

Glenburn, Orono and Veazie voters approved on Jan. 27 the plan to consolidate administration of their schools. The three communities have until July 1 to begin operating as a combined unit.

Voting results for Veazie and Glenburn were not available Tuesday night.

The new regional school board will consist of 12 members including five from Orono, four from Glenburn and three from Veazie. The first organizational meeting will be held later in the month.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like