May 23, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Mark Eves | Any-Deer Permits | RCV Strategy

6 semifinalists chosen for Teacher of the Year

AUGUSTA, Maine — Six semifinalists have been named from the 14 state 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year nominees. The semifinalists, named by the Maine Department of Education, were selected by a review panel consisting of teachers, principals, and members of professional organizations and the business community.

The semifinalists are: David Wilkins, Stearns High School, Millinocket; William Thompson, Piscataquis Community High School, Guilford; Thomas Fournier, Lincoln Middle School, Portland; Kevin Grover, D.W. Lunt School, Falmouth; Barbara Noone, Willard School, Sanford; and Jayne Quinn Sawtelle, Fred P. Hall Elementary School, Portland

The six semifinalists will undergo an intensive selection process consisting of a school visit, a professional portfolio review and an oral presentation before the pool is narrowed to three state finalists, who will sit for a final interview before the top teacher is selected and announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

The 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year will be the 44th educator to receive the honor. Gloria Noyes, a fifth-grade teacher at Congin Elementary School in Westbrook, is the 2009 Maine Teacher of the Year.

The program is coordinated by the Maine Department of Education and is supported by the Maine State Board of Education and the Maine State Teacher of the Year Association. Hannaford Supermarkets underwrites the cost of the Maine Teacher of the Year program.

More information can be found at

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like