April 24, 2018
Bangor Daily News Latest News | Poll Questions | George H.W. Bush | Litchfield Homicide | Schoolhouse Fire

Town meetings


Fiscal conservatism seemed to rule the day during Monday’s municipal election, as voters overwhelmingly decided against borrowing almost $400,000 to buy a tanker fire truck and a snowplow.

Out of 316 ballots cast, 235 voters opposed purchasing the firetruck and 182 didn’t want to borrow to buy a snowplow.

Voters elected Elizabeth Dinsmore as selectman and Angie Lash as assessor earlier this week in the town’s municipal election.

Dinsmore topped Arthur Thompson Jr. by 178 votes to 127 in Monday’s secret ballot election. Lash beat incumbent John Flood by 161 votes to 147.

Joel Fearn won an unopposed bid to continue as the town’s clerk and tax collector, and Kyle Martin, who also ran unopposed, is the road commissioner.

North Haven

Saturday’s town meeting was remarkable for what didn’t happen, said Town Clerk Kathy Macy. Every item on the budget passed and nothing provoked a great deal of discussion.

“We started at 9:03 and were done by 11:15 a.m.,” Macy said. “It was very speedy.”

Merton Howard and incumbent Linda Darling won selectmen’s seats unopposed at a meeting attended by about 80 islanders. Louis Carrier was nominated from the floor to be the assessor of taxes, and won unopposed, too.

Some people attended but didn’t vote, Macy said.

“The biggest vote we had was 50 people,” she said.


The town’s children will not attend the Thomaston Recreation Department this year. Voters at Tuesday’s annual town meeting decided against spending $26,063 for that purpose and instead will keep the kids at the town’s own recreation department, at a cost of $7,000.

Otherwise, “every article passed,” said Town Clerk Lisa Young.

In Monday’s municipal election, Daniel Staples garnered 126 votes to become a selectman, defeating Robert Baker with 109 votes. Robert Worthing ran unopposed for another selectman’s seat and received 200 votes.

Incumbent assessor Daniel Remian won his race with 196 votes. He ran unopposed, and Joseph Smith won with 40 votes as a write-in candidate to be on the budget committee.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like