April 24, 2018
News Latest News | Poll Questions | Waffle House Hero | Royal Baby | Stoned Pets

Baldacci, others to recognize Teacher of the Year nominees

Honored teachers

Gov. John Baldacci, Deputy Education Commissioner Angela Faherty and 2009 Teacher of the Year Gloria Noyes will honor the nominees for 2010 Teacher of the Year at 11 a.m. Friday, March 13, in the Hall of Flags, State House, Augusta. The 2010 nominees are:

• Donetta “Dee” Leighton, Glenburn Elementary School.

• William Thompson, Piscataquis Community High School, Guilford.

• Greg Scot Mihalik, Nokomis Regional High School, Newport.

• David Wilkins, Stearns High School, Millinocket.

• Michele Cochran-Barnes, Princeton Elementary School.

• Thomas Fournier, Lincoln Middle School, Portland.

• Kevin Grover, D.W. Lunt School, Falmouth.

• Kristen Lemay, Congin Elementary School, Westbrook.

• Rich Meserve, The REAL School, Falmouth-Windham.

• April Noble, Waterboro Elementary School.

• Barbara Noone, Willard School, Sanford.

• Stewart Palmer, Mt. Ararat High School, Topsham.

• Jayne Quinn Sawtelle, Fred P. Hall Elementary School, Portland.

• Barbara Sullivan, Biddeford Middle School.

Nominees undergo a school visit, professional portfolio review, oral presentation and final interviews. The selection committee includes past Teachers of the Year, principals, Department of Education staff, members of professional organizations and the business community. The 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

The Teacher of the Year program is supported by Hannaford Supermarkets.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like