Selectmen incumbents win Searsport election

Posted March 04, 2009, at 10:21 p.m.

SEARSPORT — Incumbents Aaron Fethke and Joseph Perry won re-election to three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen by a thin margin over newcomer Joshua Sylvester.

Perry bested current board chairman Fethke by one vote, topping the ticket with 137 votes to Fethke’s 136. Sylvester polled 131 votes in Tuesday’s election, his first foray into municipal politics.

Residents also elected the following to two-year terms on the budget advisory committee: Marjorie Knuuti, 175 votes; Charles Plourde, 172 votes; Faith Garrold, 166 votes; Ronald Cook, 158 votes; Ralph Harvey, 152 votes; John E. Moran, 150 votes; Benedict Crimaudo, 143 votes; and Gary Moore, 136 votes. Charles Yearling was elected as a write-in candidate with 11 votes. printed on August 17, 2017