May 26, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

NESCom radio program honored


BANGOR, Maine — A series of radio interviews titled “Know Before You Go,” conducted by broadcast journalism students at the New England School of Communications before last November’s elections, has won a prestigious national award from the Broadcast Education Association.

The award, which will be presented at the BEA Festival of Media Arts in April in Las Vegas, is for third place in the specialty on-air program of the student audio category. In all, the BEA named awards in 13 categories, which drew a total of 878 entries.

NESCom will receive a plaque, which will bear the inscription “Broadcast Journalism Students of NESCOM.”

Among the award recipients in the student audio category were such recognized institutions as Brigham Young University, Southern Illinois University, Marshall University and Appalachian State University.

NESCom’s “Know Before You Go” program included a series of telephone interviews done by freshman broadcast journalism students with 24 candidates for local and state elective offices.

These interviews were then condensed by upper-class students into 1- to 1½-minute radio profiles broadcast by Husson University radio station WHSN 89.3 the week before the Nov. 2 elections. Among those interviewed were candidates for city council positions as well as state House and Senate candidates. Also interviewed were U.S. Sen. Susan Collins and candidate John Frary.

A total of 36 journalism, introduction to news reporting and radio news writing and reporting students of instructors Susan Patten and Anne Gabbianelli O’Reilly were involved in the project.

Upperclassmen responsible for producing the interview profiles were Alba Briggs, Lubec; Katrina Mumford, Somersworth, N.H.; Kayley Walker, Jonesport; Morgan Small, Hampden; Jessica Navarro, Old Town; Sean Stackhouse, Pittsfield; Michael LoSchiavo, Bath; Tim Seames, South Paris; Orry Berce, Dover-Foxcroft; Kristyn Labrie, Fort Kent; Tanya Morales, Dexter; and Aaron Larsen, Lisbon Falls.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like