May 25, 2018
Aroostook Latest News | Poll Questions | Farm Bill | Memorial Day | Pigs Buried

Aroostook school merger vote today

By Jen Lynds, BDN Staff

MARS HILL, Maine — Voters in two Aroostook County school districts and several nearby towns are heading to the polls today to decide whether to approve a plan that would consolidate school administrations in their areas.

Voters in SAD 42 (Mars Hill, Blaine), SAD 45 (Perham, Wade, Washburn), Easton and Bridgewater are voting today on a plan to form a regional school unit.

There will be 1,091 students in the newly reorganized unit, according to figures released by the state Department of Education.

The plan was approved by Education Commissioner Susan Gendron last November and now is pending voter approval.

Residents in Mars Hill will vote at the Mars Hill Fire Station, while voters in Blaine can cast ballots at the Blaine Town Office. The polls in both towns will be open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., SAD 42 Superintendent Roger Shaw said Monday.

Voters in Washburn will cast their votes at the town office from noon to 6 p.m., according to SAD 45 Superintendent Edward Buckley.

The Easton Town Office will be open for voting from 9 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Voting information for Bridgewater was not available Monday.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like