May 26, 2018
Down East Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

Eastport, Calais voters choose municipal officials

By Diana Graettinger

EASTPORT, Maine — Eastport voters gave the nod to two new councilors — Paul Critchley and John Miller, who received 584 and 413 votes respectively. Incumbent Kathryn Lewis came in third with 308 votes, while newcomer George Lyons trailed with 191 votes.

On the school board side of the election, Mark DeSantis and Will Bradbury easily won seats with 507 and 454 votes respectively. Mike Chevrier trailed with 416.

No one took out nomination papers for the one four-year seat on the Port Authority, so voters gave the nod to Ricky Camick by writing his name on their ballots 125 times.

Calais voters were evenly divided on whom they wanted to serve on their City Council.

For the mayoral race, incumbent Vinton Cassidy defeated former City Councilor Marianne Moore by 851 to 704.

In the race for two seats on the City Council, voters did look to two new, but familiar faces. Voters gave the nod to former Calais Police Chief Michael Milburn with 810 votes. They also elected former City Councilor Joyce Maker by a vote of 736.

Former school committee member Billy Howard came in third with 710 votes, while incumbent Councilor Carl Royer came in last with 477 votes.

The two candidates who ran for the two open seats on the school committee were unopposed. Debra Ames and William Cody strolled away with 1,172 and 1,058 votes respectively.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like