June 24, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Lone Star Ticks | Foraging | Bangor Pride

Caribou boys win Class B cross country regionals

John Clarke Russ | BDN
John Clarke Russ | BDN
Harriers vie for position at the start of the Eastern Maine Regional Boys Class B Cross Country Championships at Troy Howard Middle School in Belfast on Saturday.

BELFAST, Maine — The Caribou boys cross country team has played the bridesmaid role at the last three Eastern Maine Class B championships, thus leaving the Vikings hungry for more.

Caribou finally got its well-deserved championship Saturday, as five Vikings finished in the top 15 en route to an 57-89 win over three-time reigning champion Ellsworth.

Mount Desert Island took third with 128 points, Medomak Valley of Waldoboro fourth with 145, Belfast fifth, also with 145, Leavitt of Turner sixth with 191, Erskine of South China seventh with 221 and Winslow in eighth with 228 rounded out the state-meet qualifiers.

Lewiston won the Class A meet in emphatic fashion, overwhelming the rest of the field with 51 points while runner-up Brunswick compiled 92.

Mt. Blue of Farmington captured third with 140, Mount Ararat of Topsham fourth with 141, Morse of Bath fifth with 144, Cony of Augusta sixth with 152 and Hampden rounded out the seven state championship qualifiers with 154.

Foxcroft Academy made easy work of the Class C field, winning its third straight title with 33 points to runner-up Bangor Christian’s 77.

Orono was third with 103, Lee Academy fourth with 108, Calais fifth with 109, George Stevens of Blue Hill sixth with 151 and Schenck of East Millinocket seventh with 184 to round out the state meet qualifiers.

In Class B, the motivated Vikings were spearheaded by the 1-2 punch of seniors Jesse Stephens and Steve Melbourne.

Stephens finished seventh and Melbourne ninth while teammates Finn Bondeson, Tim Freme and Christian Sleeper packed right in behind, finishing 12-14-15.

Sam Seekins of Erskine went on to win the individual crown in 16:39.49, while Ellsworth’s Ben Chapman was second, Gabe Stewart of John Bapst of Bangor third and Ryan James of Belfast fourth.

In Class C, Foxcroft lead horse Graham Pearsall set the tone for the Ponies’ dominating run, running away with the individual crown in 17:29.71.

His teammates formed a powerful pack behind him, as Kaleb Mann and Chris Bridges finished fourth and fifth among scoring runners while Seth Oldfield took eighth and Amos Almy 15th.

Stearns of Millinocket’s Michael Rioux finished second overall in 17:49.80 while Ryan Cavanaugh of Calais was third and Schenck’s Brandon Theriault fourth.

In Class A, Lewiston put this one away early as four Blue Devils finished in the top 10.

Robbie Leeman, Matt Driscoll and Hussain Ibrahim finished 4-5-6 while Faisal Abdillahi was 11th.

Justin Leclair in 22nd rounded out the Lewiston scorers.

Brunswick’s Will Geoghegan posted the fastest time of the day, holding off Morse’s Jason Kaake (2nd) and Mt. Blue’s Kelton Cullenberg to win in 16:13.51.

Bangor junior Sam Nisbett finished in 10th place while Evan Piccirillo led Hampden Academy in 16th.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like